المجتمع الدولي وحده لا يستطيع إيقاف العنف المتطرف

المجتمع الدولي وحده لا يستطيع إيقاف العنف المتطرف

المجتمع الدولي وحده لا يستطيع إيقاف العنف المتطرف 750 330 Hajer Sharief

القادة الشباب معا من ليبيا، يعملون لإشراك المرأة والشباب في بناء السلام.

مواجهة العنف المتطرف، مؤخرا أصبح أولوية على الأجندة الدولية للأمن والسلام. نرى أن الأمم المتحدة، مجلس الأمن و الدول الأعضاء وضعوا هذه المشكلة كأولوية. في حين أن هذه النقاشات التي تهدف للخروج بحلول عملية يمكن تنفيذها على المدى القصير، بالكاد يمكن أن نرى أي تقدم على الأرض. أحد أسباب بطء هذا التقدم هو إقصاء أهم الممثلين من الساحة، النساء و الشباب.

مواجهة العنف المتطرف من قلب الحدث:

في 2013، منظمة معا نبنيها في ليبيا، بادرت بشبكة 1325 في ليبيا، شبكة تضم حوالي 30 منظمة مجتمع مدني و نشطاء مستقلين من كل أرجاء البلاد لتعزيز مشاركة المرأة و الشباب في بناء السلام.

 من خلال مشروع شبكة 1325 في ليبيا، عملت منظمة معا نبنيها على جانبين، الأول: هو زيادة الوعي على مستوى المجتمع المحلي لتقليل العنف على كل المستويات، مستوى العائلة، مستوى المجتمع، والمستوى الوطني.  وفرت المنظمة تدريبات للنشطاء على تقليل العنف وكيف  تكون موضوعية بنية العنف في المجتمع. أيضا عملت نحو جعل النساء يتساءلون عن الأراء السائدة حول مكانة النساء التقليدية في المجتمع، حيث أنهم عادة ما يميلون للتوافق وتصور دورا نشطا في سياق بناء السلام في مقابل شعور أنهم غير مرئيين أو مغلوب على أمرهم.

الثاني: هو من خلال الدعوة من ناحية سياسية، الدعوة من خلال صناع القرار على مستوى وطني و دولي في ليبيا للتركيز و الإهتمام من ناحية المنظور النوعي (الجنسي) ومن منظور الشباب في بناء السلام وقرارات النزعات. لكي تفتح المجال للنساء و الشباب على الأرض بعكس وجهات نظرهم على الأجندة الوطنية للأمن و السلام، و للمشاركة في مفاوضات السلام.

مواجهة العنف المتطرف لا يجب أن يكون النظر إليه على أنه هدف لإنهاء شي سلبي فقط، و إنما أيضا بتقوية الجانب الإيجابي للسلام.

 من خلال خبرتي بالعمل حوالي 5 سنوات على بناء السلام في سياق صراع، أدركت أنه لو أن السلام فعلا مرغوب ، النساء و الشباب يجب أن يشاركوا في عملية الأمن و السلام، لأنهم من يستطيعون الوصول للمجتمع، هم من يستطيعون الإحساس بزيادة العنف المتطرف في مجتمعاتهم، والأهم من ذلك هم من يعرفون كيف يحاربنه!

 كيف تنظر الأجندة الدولية حول العنف المتطرف على مستوى المجتمع؟

 للأسف، أن المعركة ضد الإرهاب، التقارير الإعلامية عن الهجمات الإرهابية، والعديد من مبادرات مواجهة العنف المتطرف، قد وضعت الشباب في موقف متناقض فيما يخص رفض العنف في مجتمعاتهم والدفاع عن هوية مجتمعاتهم. العديد من الشباب اللذين معروفين عامة و يدينون الأعمال العنيفة التي يرتكبها أفراد  من هذا المجتمع، بدأت تشكك في وطنيتهم. ما يراه المجتمع هو أن تحت مواجهة العنف المتطرف، كل المجتمع يصنف كمتطرفين أو متطرفين إحتماليين، مما يطرح سؤالا مشروعا ” لم يمكن أن يفكر الشباب أن يدعم مبادرات دولية حول مواجهة العنف المتطرف التي تصنفهم على أنهم متطرفين محتملين؟ “

 مبادرة معا للغاية تهدف لقلب هذا السؤال. المبادرة أتت بـ10 أصوات قوية من قلب الحدث، اللذين قاموا بجهود هائلة لتحطيم الصور النمطية عن مواجهة العنف المتطرف و لتوصل فهم أفضل لمجتمعاتهم عن أهمية محاربة التطرف. عملهم مثال رائع للمجتمع الدولي عن كيف يمكن القضاء على العنف المتطرف بتمكين الشباب.

 مبادرة معا للغاية بدعم من مؤسسة كوفي عنان، عالم شاب صغير، و المفوضية الأوروبية، سيعملون معا للتعزيز لطرق سرد جديدة حول مواجهة العنف المتطرف . طريقة جديدة لن تنظر للموضوع على أنه مجرد إنهاء شي سلبي ، مجرد إنهاء صراع أو الحد من تجنيد مقاتيلين أجانب، بل إنه سيدعو أصحاب مصلحة الأمن والسلام ليستثمروا  أكثر في إقتصاد السلام بدلا من إقتصاد الحرب. المبادرة سوف تعمل على خلق المزيد من المساحات السياسية لمنظمات المجتمع المدني و النشطاء الشباب ليساهموا في حل هذه المشكلة. المبادرة مع تأثير السيد كوفي عنان ستطرح العقبة التسلح العسكري وهي التي تنتشر تحت اسم مكافحة العنف المتطرف.

Hajer Sharief

Co-Founder and Leader Coordinator

جميع المقالات من: Hajer Sharief

The International Community Alone Won’t Defeat Violent Extremism

The International Community Alone Won’t Defeat Violent Extremism

The International Community Alone Won’t Defeat Violent Extremism 750 330 Hajer Sharief

 

Extremely Together’s Young Leader from Libya, working to engage women and young people in peace building.

Countering violent extremism recently became a priority in the peace and security global agenda. We see that the United Nations, the Security Council and its member states have all prioritized this issue. Whilst these discussions aim to come up with practical solutions that can be implemented in the short term, barely any progress on the ground can be seen. One of the reasons for this is that these discussions often exclude important actors from the field; women and youth.

Countering violent extremism from the field

In 2013 the Together We Build it Organization in Libya, initiated the 1325 Network; a network of 30 civil society organizations and independent activists from all over the country promoting the participation of women and young people in peace building.

Through the 1325 Network project, the Together We build it organization works with a bilateral approach; firstly, raising awareness of the local community to reduce violence on all levels: family level, community level, national level. The organization delivers training to community activists and leaders on reducing violence and how to objectify the structure of violence in the community. It also works towards making women question the prevailing opinions around the traditional position of women in the community; that they tend to conform to, and to envisage an active role in the context of peace building as opposed to feeling invisible and dis-empowered.

Secondly, through a political advocacy approach, advocating with national and international decision makers to Libya to integrate a gender and a youth perspective in peace building and conflict resolution. It creates a political space for women and youth on the ground to have their perspectives reflected in the peace and security national agenda and to participate in peace negations and mediation.

Countering violent extremism should not be looked at as only putting an end to something negative; it’s also about empowering positive peace.

From my experience working for five years on peace building in a context of conflict, I came to the realization that if peace is truly desired, women and youth must take part in the peace and security process, because they are the ones who have access to the community, they are the ones who can sense the rise of radicalized violence in their communities and most importantly they will be the ones who will know how to fight it.

How the global agenda on countering violent extremism is perceived at the community level?

Unfortunately the fight against terrorism, media reports on terrorists attacks and many initiatives on countering violent extremism, have placed young people in a paradoxical situation in relation to rejecting the violence in their society and defending the identity of their community. Many of the young people who publicly condemn violent actions committed by members of their community, have their loyalty to their community called into question. What the community see is, under the name of countering violent extremism the whole community is identified as extremists or potential extremists, which raises a valid question ‘why would youth support global initiatives on countering violent extremism that identify them as potential extremists?

The Extremely Together initiative aims to turn this question on its head. The initiative brings together 10 powerful voices from the field, who have made tremendous efforts to break the stereotypes on violent extremism and deliver a better understanding to their local communities on the importance of fighting against the radicalization. Their work sets a great example for the international community on how violent extremism can be defeated by empowering young people.

The Extremely Together initiative with the support of the Kofi Annan Foundation, One Young World and the European Commission, will work to promote new narratives for countering violent extremism; a narrative that won’t only be looking at putting an end to something negative; ending conflicts or preventing requirement of foreign fighters. Rather, it will advocate for the peace and security stakeholders to invest more in economics of peace rather than economics of war. The initiative will work towards creating more political space for civil society and young activists to contribute to this issue. The initiative with the influence Mr. Kofi Annan has, will address the obstacle that militarism is spreading and under the name of countering violent extremism.

 

Hajer Sharief

Co-Founder and Leader Coordinator

All stories by : Hajer Sharief